May 19, 2022

Holy Angels Students Take National Honor Society Oath

On May 19, the Regina Angelorum Chapter of the National Honor Society welcomed 102 of the Academy of the Holy Angels’ top scholars from the Class of 2022 and Class of 2023. NHS Moderator Sharon Jureller organized the induction, which was led by NHS Chapter President Katherine Amanda Donohue and Vice President Madeleine Outlaw. NHS Executive Board members include Ella Cho, Julianna DellaCroce, Holly Foothorap, Alina Keshishian, Jordan Kotch, Gian Lee, Janella Osbourne, Nina Sango, Adriana Santos, Lydia Schmidhauser, Nicole Sinde, and Jamie Sung.


AHA Principal Jean Miller congratulated the new inductees, noting that induction is not a goal in itself, but a stepping stone to the greater gifts life offers when we serve others.


Academic Dean Carmen Quiñones added, “There is nothing beyond your reach.”


The National Honor Society recognizes students who exemplify scholarship, service, leadership, and character. The following honorees (including seniors denoted in bold) took the NHS pledge:


Danielle Dobres and Kathryn Fragola of Bergenfield; Audrey Aligada of Chestnut Ridge, New York; Alexis Mysliwiec and Julia Sosa of Cliffside Park; Raphaela Cárdenas and Grace Costanza of Clifton; Nicole Grimpas, Teri Koustas, Haeun “Grace” Lee, Faith Youn, and Cecilia Yun of Closter; Allie Pyun and Catherine Tuohy of Cresskill; Julia Favaro, Anna Governale, Natalie Pienkawa, and Amelia Shen of Demarest; Caitilin Neville of Dumont; Hannah Janiec of East Rutherford; Allison Chung of Edgewater; Kaitlyn Brady and Noelle Wacker of Emerson; Camila Latinsky-Ortiz of Englewood; Keira Footer, Celine Hong, Kate Shen, and Sydney Uddo of Englewood Cliffs; Reilly Guy of Fair Lawn; Giselle Acosta, Cara Chang, Priscilla Lithgow, and Jordyn Wynn of Fort Lee; Natalia Antaki, Giovanna Corbisiero, and Elise Pisciotti of Franklin Lakes; Caterina Cardamone of Glen Rock; Ava Deramo of Harrington Park; Bianca Cifelli of Hillsdale; Audrey Bruder, Reese Orlofsky, and Gretchen Radtke of Hoboken; Jennifer Haemmerle of Leonia; Liana Powley and Tessa Shaw of Mahwah; Ava Goyal of Montclair; Ella Springer of Montvale; Jiayi “Stella” Ouyang of Nanuet, New York; Jaclyn Larraz of New City, New York; Suzanna Odusote and Emily Sapka of North Haledon; Annabelle Hur, Serin Hwang, and Micayla McMahon of Norwood; Breanna Hetzer of Nutley; Ava Santoro of Old Tappan; Olivia Costa, Emily Danahy, Katherine Day, Amanda Tomasella, and Lauren Tomasella of Oradell; Catherine Chiang of Orangeburg, New York; Martina Appice and Zahara Fiorentinos of Palisades Park; Shivani Sahu of Paramus; Kyra Sapontzis of Park Ridge; Natalia Gonzalez of Paterson; Caroline Dupas of Pearl River, New York; Irini Stathis of Ridgefield; Rachel Mina of Ridgefield Park; Romina Bega of Ringwood; Isabella Novo of River Vale; Alexia Adhikary, Claudia Paoli, and Isabel Stein of Rutherford; Alexandra Boardman, Reyna Cunningham, Autumn Morrissey, and Federica Zazzali of Saddle River; Sydney Ponti of Secaucus; Annalise Olsen of Stony Point, New York; Alexis Jacob of Tappan, New York; Mariah Anderson, Kira Sullivan, Areliz Tamayo, and Nicole Yakubov of Teaneck; Francesca Alliotts, Sophie Cossio, Dominique Rose Dela Gente, Isabella Fernandez, Erin Ha, Anna Jang, Jacqueline LaMastra, Ella Oaten, and Xinyue “Cindy” Yang of Tenafly; Morgan Battaglia of Upper Saddle River; Raegan Brosseau of West New York; Isabella McMahon of West Orange; Katherine Lindquist and Erin Pav of Westwood; and Sophia Carroll and Isabella DeBari of Woodcliff Lake.


Founded by the School Sisters of Notre Dame in 1879, the Academy of the Holy Angels is the oldest private girls’ school in Bergen County. While AHA is steeped in Catholic tradition, this prestigious school serves young women from many cultural and religious backgrounds.