Get Started

October 26, 2023

National Merit Honorees Recognized

The Academy of the Holy Angels acknowledged this year’s National Merit® Scholarship Program honorees on Foundation Day (October 24). Several Angels were named Commended Students, and many received honors in national recognition programs administered by The College Board®. Each student’s achievement was based on her excellent performance on the Preliminary SAT/National Merit® Scholarship Qualifying Test.

Emily Kim, Elise Tao, Olivia Papp, Lauren Tong, Natalie Yoo, Gigi Ochs, Sidney Chung, and Aiko Chang.

Commended Students include seniors Aiko Chang of Valley Cottage, New York; Sidney Chung of Cresskill; Emily H. Kim and Natalie Yoo of Englewood Cliffs; Georgette “Gigi” Ochs of Fair Lawn; Olivia Papp of Hawthorne; Elise Tao of Upper Saddle River; and Lauren Tong of Old Tappan.


AHA’s National Indigenous Recognition Program honoree is Genevieve Tuohy (’25) of Cresskill.


Principal Jean Miller and Genevieve Tuohy.

Olivia Leys (’24) of Tappan, New York; Ava Taylor (’24) of Cresskill; and Alexandra Fontana (’25) of Nanuet, New York, were honored in the National African-American Recognition Program.

Alexandra Fontana and Ava Taylor. (Not pictured Olivia Leys.)


This year’s National Hispanic Recognition Program honorees include seniors Elena Fiorentinos of Cresskill; Sarah Machado of Tappan, New York; Marina Poire of Dumont; Valerie Rey of River Vale; Natalia Ruiz of Fairview; and Victoria Velasco of Woodcliff Lake. Juniors who received NHRP honors include Lily Cossio of Tenafly, Xenaya Medina of Clifton, and Sienna Pacione of Old Tappan.

Lily Cossio, Sienna Pacione, Sarah Machado, Valerie Rey, Victoria Velasco, Natalia Ruiz, Xenaya Medina, and Marina Poire. (Not pictured: Elena Fiorentinos.)